NOTICE OF MOTION – UKRAINE

To consider the undersigned Notice of Motion standing in the name of County Borough Councillor P. Marsden and supported by the Members listed.

The Motion asks Council to note that:

The ongoing military attack against Ukraine by the Russian Federation and Belarus, which began on 24th February, has caused shock and concern around the world. It has undermined world peace and represents a fundamental attack on democratic ideals and values.

This war, like all wars, will cause disproportionate harm, fear and suffering to civilians. It has been widely reported that the military conflict has already claimed the lives of many hundreds of civilians, and thousands of armed forces personnel. The crisis has seen over a million refugees travel to neighbouring countries to seek sanctuary.

People across the world have recognised the Ukrainian people's suffering, but also their deep resolve to defend their rights and democratic freedoms. The international community has offered them support in their time of greatest need.

Therefore we, the undersigned, move that Caerphilly County Borough Council:

- A. Recognises the suffering and resolve of the people of Ukraine, and those with close links to Ukraine,
- B. Condemns the unprovoked and unacceptable military attack against Ukraine by the Russian Federation and Belarus.
- C. Offers support if needed, through existing Council services, to residents with Ukrainian citizenship, or those with family members in Ukraine and affected areas,
- D. Welcomes the Welsh Government's commitment to accept refugees from Ukraine, and resolves to accept and support refugees within the County Borough,

- E. Urges the UK Government to show compassion by waiving visa requirements for Ukrainian citizens seeking refuge from the military conflict,
- F. Supports moves by pension funds to divest from Russian linked companies.



Signed: Councillor P. Marsden

Supported by:

Councillor James Pritchard

Councillor Eluned Stenner

Councillor Nigel George

Councillor Shayne Cook

Councillor Ross Whiting

Councillor Colin Gordon

Councillor Andrew Whitcombe

Councillor Ann Gair

Councillor Lindsey Harding

Councillor Carmen Bezzina

Councillor Sean Morgan

Councillor Gez Kirby

Councillor Dianne Price

Councillor Carl Thomas

Councillor Gary Johnston

Councillor Derek Havard

Councillor Julian Simmonds

Councillor Vincent James

Councillor Alan Collis

Councillor Elizabeth Aldworth

Councillor Adrian Hussey

Councillor Roy Saralis

Councillor Walter Williams

Councillor Mike Adams

Councillor Carol Andrews

Councillor Mark Evans

Councillor Kevin Etheridge

Councillor Colin Mann

Councillor John Taylor

Councillor Mike Davies

Councillor Alan Angel

Councillor Charlotte Bishop

Councillor John Roberts

Councillor Theresa Parry